The American Legion Post No. 410 was organized in the Harrison County town of Little Sioux on December 26, 1922, with fifteen charter members. An American Legion Auxiliary group was chartered less than a month later; both organizations continue to serve the Little Sioux community today. The Legion Hall is located in the old Peyton Bank building across from the town park.
When the Harrison County seat was relocated from Magnolia to Logan in 1876, a combination of $5,000 from taxes and $9,000 in private donations helped construct a two-story brick courthouse in the town square. With a growing county population and a need for additional office space, the brick courthouse was replaced with a three-story steel and concrete block building accented by Bedford limestone that was dedicated November 3, 1911. The courthouse still serves residents of Harrison County today.
The Merry Brook School Museum sits near the edge of downtown Woodbine in Harrison County, Iowa. The iconic one-room school house dates to the 1870s, when it was located a mile east of Woodbine near the site of the present municipal airport. When improvements were made to the airport in 1958, the Merry Brook School was forced to relocate. It was moved into the city, placed near the elementary school, and used as a fifth grade classroom.
The school was relocated to its present location in 1991, when it was set upon a basement foundation. The basement is home to the Harrison County Genealogical Society, while the school itself is now a museum; it’s open to the public by appointment. To schedule an appointment, call (712) 647-2593.
The Rialto Theatre is one of several historic buildings painted in pastel in downtown Missouri Valley, Iowa. The once-closed theatre was renovated and reopened by community members in 1990. It’s been in operation since, showing first run movies once daily. For current showtimes, call (712) 642-3826.
Two Citgo gas pumps remain on the site of a former Stuckey’s off Interstate 29 near Little Sioux, Iowa. Although a closing date is unknown, the Little Sioux Stuckey’s was open in 1992, the last to operate in the state. Known for its pecan log rolls and iconic blue roof, the Stuckey’s chain peaked with 350 locations in the 1970s.